The Nancy DeMuth Ruhle Scholarship recognizes outstanding dietetics students for their academic achievements and emerging leadership. If you know a deserving student who exemplifies these qualities, please encourage him or her to submit an application. Applications are currently available for Spring 2022.


2022 scholarship application


Makayla Mitchell

Makayla Mitchell

2021 Scholarship Winner

Makayla obtained her Bachelor’s Degree in Nutrition Management from RIT in May 2021. She plans to complete her dietetic internship in Chattanooga, Tennessee. After her internship, Makayla hopes to continue her education striving toward a master’s degree in exercise science.

The Nancy DeMuth Ruhle Scholarship is awarded to a nutrition student who demonstrates leadership, engagement within the dietetic community and strives to continue these qualities within the dietetic profession. Makayla has come to us highly recommended for her hard work, excellent communication skills, superior leadership skills, and tremendous work ethic. These qualities are also exhibited through her volunteer work at activities such as the Foodlink COVID backpack program, the Act-N-Do Thanksgiving meal program, and both the volunteer events and student President role she holds with the RIT Student Dietetics & Nutrition Association.

When presented with scholarship, Makayla stated,”I am beyond grateful to be this year’s recipient of the Nancy DeMuth Ruhle Scholarship.
I am eager to continue on myjourney to becoming a Registered Dietitian.”

We wish Makayla the best of luck as she begins her Dietetic Internship!



    • 2020 Madeline Gibbs
    • 2019 Brooke Buse
    • 2018 Samantha Teneyck
    • 2017 Michael Cummings
    • 2016 Karlee Bushnell
    • 2015 Kelsey Buecheler
    • 2014 Reneé Ortolani
    • 2013 Molly Mallette
    • 2012 Kirby Jo Moore
    • 2011 Amanda Picaretto
    • 2010 Janel Kelly
    • 2009 Jenna DiVincenzo
    • 2008 Melissa Pratt
    • 2007 Meghan Hyatt
    • 2006 Jennifer Whigham and Kristie Antonitto
    • 2005 Michele Groden and Shannon Keck
    • 2004 Amy Alquist and Amanda Urban
    • 2003 Amanda Urban and Joy Valvano
    • 2002 Amy Lougan and Andrea Vasilovski
    • 2001 none
    • 2000 Deborah Kelly
    • 1999 Christine Wanamaker